Bitmoji

After reading the two articles this week about Piktograph and Canva and Comic book/strip I found myself wondering how I could use these sites in my classroom. The more I think about it I feel as if I would be using these in the upper grades such as 6th grade and on up. I could have students make posters about an event coming up, or a comic strip about a book they are reading or what took place during break. The opportunities to use these different tools are endless.

I am currently taking a SPED class here at CSC and each week we have to turn our homework in a presentation form and I feel like when I  become better at accessing Piktograph I can use that site to turn in my homework.

Do I think there is value in presenting information in these visual/graphic styles? Yes. I do! This is a great way to integrate the technology so that the student becomes excited about their learning project.

The thing that I found challenging about this weeks assignment is taking the time to figure out how each site works and what I have to do in order to create what I want. I also ran into the problem that Piktograph was NOT free and I don’t like to have to pay to make a presentation so I was bummed about that. However, the did a 30 day free trial so I could use it for those couple of days and then delete my account.

The website that I used this week was bitmoji. I downloaded the app to my phone and then created my account.When I had created my account it asked me to create an Avatar person. Normally when accounts have you do this the character is plain and simple. This app had me choose my gender, the size of my avatar, the face shape, the skin color, the way the eyes were shaped, the eye color, the length and style of hair, and much more. I really enjoyed creating my avatar. After I created my avatar person I then went into my phone and added bitmoji to my keyboard and it downloaded my avatar and sayings with it. I found these two to be fun. There are TONS of options of bitmojis to choose from and I wanted to share all of them with you but I thought I would just narrow it to two.

8 comments

  1. karsonlangley · April 14, 2016

    I loved the idea of having students use a Comic book strip as a sort of book review project. I feel as if younger students could even get into something like that. I also really enjoyed your use of the Bitmoji! I didn’t realize that there was such an extensive process for creating one either! All in all, I really enjoyed your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. morgan13hays · April 15, 2016

    Great post!! I really like that you went and did your own research on digital creation tools and found the one you did to do this weeks assignment. I agree with you that these tools would be a lot of fun to use in a classroom. I know that you said you wouldn’t use these tools until about 6th grade, but what do you think about using it in like 3rd or 4th grade? Do you think those students could do something simple with these tools?

    Like

    • missboller · April 17, 2016

      I think you have a great idea! I think the 3rd and 4th graders would be able to use these tools

      Like

  3. sharinglovelife · April 17, 2016

    Totally agree that these were more leveled for upper grade level. Certain things would work for 3rd – 5th too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ataft4482 · April 18, 2016

    I like some of your ideas for the use of the technology. I agree that it is an upper grade level technology. I am going into SPED and do not see a lot of use for it in my classroom. I am a fan of bitstrip, I made an account a long time ago when it was a big thing on Facebook, so when I saw it listed in our learning for this week I was glad to see a technology I already understood. I can actually see myself possible using it in my classroom.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joshuapilkington · April 27, 2016

    Great post! I actually didn’t even know what these avatars were, how people were making them, and even what bitmoji was, for that matter. However, things like this would definitely be fun to use in the upper grade classrooms!

    Like

Leave a Reply

