How much of your life is Online?!

Session 1

  1. Date: 3/22/16
    2. Description of Physical Space and Device: I was in a classroom all to myself for 3 hours and then a couple peers showed up to do homework too. I am using my laptop and my phone is next to the laptop.
    3. Duration of session: 12:30-4
    4. What occurred: people walked by the room and music was playing
    5. What you did: homework, created mailing labels, looked up wedding hair and flowers
    6. How you felt: frustrated, excited, tired
    7. What worked: When I play music and I am by myself I can focus and get lots accomplished
    8. What did not work: When my peers came in to do homework because we talk too much
    9. Other comments: I didn’t realize how much time I was spending on homework and wedding planning.

 

Session 2

  1. Date3/22/16
    2. Description of Physical Space and Device: I was in a classroom all to myself for 3 hours and then a couple peers showed up to do homework too. I am using my laptop and my phone is next to the laptop.
    3. Duration of session: 6-8
    4. What occurred: an empty classroom with a peer and myself playing music
    5. What you did: I worked on more homework
    6. How you felt: Brain dead
    7. What worked: playing music
    8. What did not work: everything worked
    9. Other comments.

 

Session 3

  1. Date: 3/23/16
    2. Description of Physical Space and Device: In my bedroom
    3. Duration of session: 3-4
    4. What occurred: music in the background and the vibration of my phone informing me of emails and texts
    5. What you did: I made address labels.
    6. How you felt: I wish labels didn’t take so long.
    7. What worked: Knowing that the faster I work the sooner I’d be done
    8. What did not work: laying on my bed
    9. Other comments.

 

Session 4

  1. Date: 3/24/16
    2. Description of Physical Space and Device: Empty classroom with my laptop and cell phone.
    3. Duration of session: 2-5
    4. What occurred: my friends and I sitting in an empty classroom
    5. What you did: I did homework
    6. How you felt: It’s almost Friday! Finish hard you can do this!
    7. What worked: occasional breaks (5min) and playing music
    8. What did not work
    9. Other comments.

Session 5

  1. Date: 3/25/16
    2. Description of Physical Space and Device: Empty classroom with my laptop and cell phone.
    3. Duration of session: 10:30-12
  2. What occurred: People come in and out of the room.
    5. What you did: homework
    6. How you felt: Can the hours hurry up?! I am ready for the weekend (getting the house ready to move into)
    7. What worked: Knowing I had deadlines to meet.
    8. What did not work: My excitement to have a 3day weekend.
    9. Other comments.

 

After looking through my journal entries on how much time I spend on my laptop and how long I am on the Internet I just feel like I am chained down all week. I think part of the reason I get so excited about the weekend is because I work so hard through out the week trying to get all my homework done so that on the weekends I can focus on getting the house ready that my fiancé and I will be living in when we are married and planning wedding stuff. Also on the weekends since I don’t have wifi where I stay its nice to just focus on life and live it. Note to anyone who wants to have a life do NOT take 21 credits, plan a wedding, and try to get a house ready before the wedding. I am glad that I am taking classes that I enjoy because it makes it easier to spend time on them. Since I am always on the computer doing homework I feel like I am missing out on the fun that some of my peers are participating on. I feel like I do my best work when I am alone in the classroom and my fiancé isn’t texting me because I have no distractions. Playing upbeat music helps me to stay focused on getting my homework done.

2 comments

  1. karsonlangley · April 3, 2016

    I think it is great that you do work so hard during the week to get all of your homework done, but your journal does show how many hours are spent glued to a laptop. Do you think there is a way to work around it to still have your weekend free? Or is it just a stone cold fact that in order to get your work done you need your technology time? Also super jealous you’re planning a wedding! Best of Luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • missboller · April 6, 2016

      I have tried spending less time on technology for class and it isn’t a good idea… Don’t be too jealous about planning a wedding..its more work than i thought. However, the excitement for the big day makes the planning doable! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

