Online Activist?

3475417696_9565941ee0_b

After reading the articles this week I was amazed by how many people use the Internet to be activists. It makes sense that people would use the Internet because when something is posted on the Internet anyone and everyone can see what is posted. I think this type of activism is a little easier for groups to become larger and stronger. I think this type of activism is more effective in the way that people all over the world can work together to make something happen.

When reading about the teens that use the Internet to be activist I thought it was really neat. I thought it was neat in the way that they have been taught how to use the Internet effectively to make a difference in the world! As a future teacher I will be teaching students and having them use the Internet. Before they use the Internet I will teach them the importance of using the Internet appropriately.

While I was reading the articles I thought to myself, “I wonder if I have ever participated in digital activism.” As far as I know I have not participated in digital activism. I am thinking that I will use this topic in my classroom. I feel like it could be exciting for the students but also very educational. I would use digital activism in my class when we are learning about campaigns or running for class president. I think having the students use twitter and facebook and any other social media at the time of my teaching will show students how digital activism works. This is just an idea I would need to do more brainstorming to figure out the details.

I think some of the key issues we should consider about digital activism is that people can be abusive online. As a future teacher I am not sure that I should participate in majority of activism because I am held to such high standards and if a parent or a coworker or boss saw me out there and didn’t agree with my thoughts they would maybe have me fired. And maybe this thought is over thinking digital activism. I think before we let our students out on the Internet we should most definitely inform them of the seriousness of being online and show them that everything they post will show up. We will need to educate our students how to make good decisions when posting on the Internet.

I felt like this weeks module was very interesting and I learned more information on our digital world.

9 comments

  1. karsonlangley · March 20, 2016

    I found your blog post to be very interesting and informative, Alyssa. Activism is something I don’t think of immediately as an active part of the Internet, but you provided many sound examples. I also liked how you explained how activists can abuse the internet. Do you think that activism could be utilized or even taught in a classroom? Or is that a more personal time type of internet use?

    Like

    • missboller · March 20, 2016

      I think if it is used appropriately and responsibly it could be used in the classroom.

      Like

  2. chandrachadroneagles · March 21, 2016

    I agree with you that is is so important to consider what we–as future teachers–become involved with, and what we become activists for online (and in general) because it directly affects those opinions of fellow coworker, bosses, parents, etc. This is something that is even on the forefront of my mind now–where I go out to, what is posted online, what I do what I say, how I look, etc. Those are all huge factors even now–because the majority of the people I know are aware that I am going into teaching; therefore, if I was to post something that didn’t sit well with someone, it could definitely affect my image down the line when I start looking to get a job.

    I think that you held some great insight as to what online activism is–and had some great points as to what we should be aware of.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ataft4482 · March 21, 2016

    I think many of us participate in activism without even thinking or even knowing about it. Sharing a post or a meme may look or seem simple but if we share that meme or post without seeing what it is attached to, we could very well be attaching our name to a group or movement we might not want to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • missboller · March 21, 2016

      I never thought of it that way. I will now be more alert to what I post and share.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ataft4482 · March 24, 2016

    It is not always a bad thing, I just think people are involved and do not even realize it. I finally got my blog about it done and I explained it a little better.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lovelyteachers · March 24, 2016

    Teens being activist is amazing! I am hoping I can encourage the student in my church class to stand up and be an activist for something they believe in!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

