Ds106

7939779260_66ce477e35_m

What is this Ds106 !?!?! A code?  Ha! No! Ds106 is an online learning tool. People create fun little assignments that creative and there are all sorts of different assignments. There are visual, audio, video, writing, mashup, and much more! I think this would be a great tool to bring into the classroom for the upper elementary and up students!

When I was looking through these links that had been provided for us to look at and learn from I was a little worried and started wondering if I would be able to do this. When I first looked at these websites I was unsure of what it really was. I googled trying to search for my answer on what Ds106 is and it had nothing except how to show me how to write a resume…I knew that wasn’t right. I then went to Youtube and looked up examples of Ds106 and found a video that was a little helpful. But I still wasn’t so sure what to do. Soooo I went back to the websites that we were given for this weeks assignment and I dug through stuff to get a little more clear understanding of what Ds106 is and how to use it. I think I understand and I feel like I am going to be super stretched out of my comfort zone but if I have learned one thing from college classes is that they do not let you get comfortable. College classes like to stretch you and help you expand on things that this world has to offer and they do this to help us better help the future people or places we will encounter.

From doing my research on Ds106 I really liked how the had more than one or five different learning tools/assignments. I thought this was great that the website had so many different assignments and different types of assignments because there are many different learning styles out there that need to be reached. As a future teacher I can see this website becoming bookmarked in my computer so that I can use this if I have upper elementary students. I feel like I could use these assignments has a brain break from our daily classes, or I could do this in the morning for calendar/ good morning time. As future teachers we constantly hear how we need to bring back creativity in the classrooms and I feel like this is one of the many ways we can do that for our students.

I am looking forward to using this myself for this class but I am also a little nervous to get started on this adventure.

 

4 comments

  1. tessgorsuch · February 25, 2016

    You found out some really awesome things through ds106! I struggled through it a little bit and was really confused with what exactly it was. I thought it was cool that you found information through the videos, and now I feel like I need to go back and watch more of the videos. Thank you for your help! Good post.

    Like

    • missboller · February 28, 2016

      Thank you for taking the time to read my blog!

      Like

  2. morgan13hays · February 27, 2016

    Great post! I also had trouble Googling ds106 and didn’t get any great results. I also think that ds106 and the Daily Create would be a great thing to incorporate into the classroom in elementary to high school. Thank you for sharing the video you found too!

    Like

    • missboller · February 28, 2016

      Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and watch the video! I learn better when I can see visuals.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

