Lakota Language

This week I made extra time to figure out how this language learning stuff was going to work. In high school I took 3 years of Spanish and to this day I can not tell you what I learned. I really wish I could have remembered more Spanish than I do. However, I feel that learning the Lakota Language and then being able to apply it to every day life will help me be able to remember what I learn.

For my independent learning this week I learned how to say a few words. I have found a Lakota book and it helps me learn words. When I do not know how to pronounce the word I either look it up on google or I ask my fiances mom. My fiances mom works at a school close to the reservation and she sometimes uses the Lakota Language. I have also found a couple books that will help me learn the language a little easier. I am looking forward to being able to accomplish this project!

As I work through this independent learning project I am starting to plan out how much of the language to learn. I would like to learn most of the language but what my thoughts are is that I am just going to be able to learn the common conversational phrases that are used and maybe some of the school words and animal words. I think knowing these things will help me to start out with showing the students that I want to be able to relate with them.

After this week I feel a little overwhelmed by all that I will be learning but I keep reminding myself of how rewarding it will be when I know these phrases. I enjoy learning about different cultures and when I travel to different places I like to learn at least one phrase that I know I will use often. Having my fiance’s family know a little bit of the Lakota Language will be helpful because when I do not know something they will be able to explain it to me and help me to speak the phrase the right way. As I said earlier I can not wait to continue this journey of learning the new language. I know  I will have some rough days learning the different language but in the end I know it will all be worth it! I am so grateful for this opportunity to learn something of my choice!

 

Native American

4 comments

  1. chandrachadroneagles · February 1, 2016

    I really liked how you described your struggles and fears because I am sure that is something that all of us our experiencing at this point in our independent learning projects! I know I am as I am also learning a new language for my ILP! I’ve been searching for an online program that I like that won’t cost a fortune to help me out through the semester–I also hope to be proficient in knowing common phrases and being able to hold a light conversation with someone!! Best of luck to you! Seems like you have a fantastic start!

    Like

    • missboller · February 2, 2016

      Thank you! I am glad I am not the only one who is a litlle nervous. I know you will do great!

      Like

  2. ataft4482 · February 1, 2016

    The Lakota language, how interesting. I love Indian culture. I once had the opportunity to go visit a friend in Nevada. He belonged to the Piute tribe and lived near Lake Tahoe. While there visiting I was able to attend a pow wow and after watching the dance and experiencing the culture, I loved it. Good luck on your venture to learn the language.

    Like

    • missboller · February 2, 2016

      Thank you! I witnessed my first pow wow a couple months ago for another class and it was neat!

      Like

Leave a Reply

