If You’re Gonna Lead, LEAD!

 

I am not even sure where to begin how to do a review on this TED talk. I have not watched a TED talk this AMAZING in my life! I am not exaggerating either! Linda is an amazing woman who is passionate about students and helping them become successful. Linda is a principal at a school known as Strawberry Mansion. When she first took this position she saw that there were locks on the door, classrooms trashed, and the reputation of the school was dangerous. When she saw and heard the things about this school she knew she had to change things to help students who were once like her. Linda decided to take charge and make changes so that her students could be successful! The first step she took was creating a group of teachers who were willing to help her fix up the school so they could have a school who will prosper. When Linda found a group to help her they started cleaning up the rooms and decorating the bulletin boards around the school. But Linda did not stop there, she taught teachers how to teach the students, she repeats expectations to students daily, she takes lunch duty so she can get to know her students, and when it is a students’ birthday she sings to them! All these things show students just how much their principal cares about them. Strawberry Mansion also holds monthly meetings so that students who have questions or comments about what is going on in school they can ask. Linda said she answers each and every question with an honest answer!

After a year of being there Linda and her school has made HUGE improvements and she says they still have a long ways to go. When she first started there most kids didn’t come to class and the academic scores were very low. After a year attendance is better and the score have increased immensely! I love hearing stories of hard work paying off. And to help you know how much I love hearing stories like this I have watched this TED talk 5 times! Linda was once like her students living in poverty raised by one parent and now she is a principal who is helping students. She knows what her students go through just to survive and that is why she makes school such a great place for them because she wants it to be the highlight of their day! My favorite quote from her is “ If nobody told you they loved you today, Remember I do! And I always will!” I will be using this quote the rest of my life because this is so powerful! I want to be the teacher who makes the highlight of a students’ day! I want my students to know they are loved.

 

***Watch the video! You. Will. Be. Inspired!

6 comments

  1. taylorbauerblog · January 27, 2016

    After reading your second sentence I had to stop to watch the video. I think there’s a lot to learn from this video. Sometimes we just need teachers that are willing to give their students their all and just show that they care. I know teachers have to care somewhat, but are all of those teachers willing to go to the lengths that Linda has? I think this lady needs to move around to all of the schools and put some of her magic into them. I really like the part that she opens up for students to ask questions or show their concerns. This truly shows that she cares about her students learning and their input. I really, really like that quote also. I think some students just need to know that we care. I like one of her other quotes, “So what, now what!”

    Like

    • missboller · January 30, 2016

      Thank you for taking time to watch the video! I am glad you think that we should all have a little bit of Linda in our schools.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lovelyteachers · January 27, 2016

    I would love to meet this women. She sounds so inspiring. I wish i had a teacher that was like her. I am so glad you introduced me to this talk

    Like

    • missboller · January 30, 2016

      I would like to meet her as well! I think we need more teachers like her.

      Like

  3. morgan13hays · January 30, 2016

    This sounds like an amazing video, I am so glad that you shared with us! It is not very often that you hear of administrators doing so much to help improve their schools. This is a miracle, what she did for her school, and I hope that the school continues to thrive. GREAT JOB!

    Like

  4. Elisabeth Ellington · February 18, 2016

    I’m so glad you shared this video. This is a talk I haven’t watched yet and can’t wait to see! I’m bookmarking it to watch later this afternoon when I have a little more time. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

