Independent Learning Project

Native American

When assigned this Independent Study I was panicky because I was unsure of something I wanted to learn. I haven’t had to think about what I wanted to learn in a long time. I have always been given information and done further research on it. But with this freedom that I have just been given to choose my own topic of learning I have decided that I would like to learn about the Lakota language.

Being able to learn about the Lakota language is important to me because there is a possibility that my future students will be from the Lakota tribe. This summer when I get married I will be living in South Dakota and I am hoping to land a job in the  school near our house. By being able to learn about the Lakota language I will be able to show my students that I truly respect their culture and I am wanting to learn more about them. I feel as though having this trait will help my students to feel safe with me and know that I care about them.

When I become a teacher and happen to get placed in the school where my fiance’ lives I think it would benefit me to have an understanding of my neighbors I will be meeting, my coworkers I will be interacting with, and just for my personal understanding. When a person has the desire to learn about their surroundings and the different culture they will be living in, it says something about their character as a person. It shows others that the person really cares about their surroundings and that they are trying to understand the new culture.

I am excited about starting this journey of learning about the Lakota language. I feel as if I will benefit greatly from this independent learning project. Being able to pick a topic that I am interested in will help me be able to enjoy researching and will give me the opportunity to enhance my future. As a future teacher I will be letting my students choose the topics they research so that when they come across an assignment like this they won’t be panicky like me and have to sit a ponder for awhile about what they would like to research. Giving students the freedom to choose what they learn helps the learning rise because students are actually interested in what they are learning since they chose the topic.

14 comments

  1. graceharveyblog · January 20, 2016

    Alyssa,
    I think learning about the Lakota language will be a lot of fun! I also love your reasoning behind it. This is something you will really benefit from and can use in the future, not just for this class! Good luck with your learning and I hope you get a job at the school you want so you can use this!

    Like

    • missboller · January 21, 2016

      Thank you Grace! I hope I do get the job at the school close to his house. I have visited there many times to get a feel for things and it is different than some schools but I like it!

      Like

  2. lovelyteachers · January 20, 2016

    This is such a great idea. So many people don’t take the time to think about what will help them get to the students better and this will definitely help you! Good luck at getting the school you want!

    Like

    • missboller · January 21, 2016

      Thank you! I would love to learn all I can to help each student that will be taught in my future classroom! I feel like learning the different language is the first step.

      Like

  3. taylorbauerblog · January 20, 2016

    Alyssa, I think this will be a great experience for you and definitely help you when you become a teacher in South Dakota. Depending where you will end up in South Dakota, it is smart to have knowledge about the Lakota culture because you will most likely have at least one student that is Lakota. I know to be certified to teach in SD you have to take a Native American Culture class anyway, so you will just be one step ahead.
    Just like you didn’t know what you wanted to do your Independent Study Project, I feel the same way. Growing up schools have never allowed us the opportunity to study something we chose. They may give us a subject then we can pick a topic within that subject, but it is not the same thing. I like that when you become a teacher you are going to offer that opportunity to your students. It shows that they have some choice in their education and it gets them interested in what they’re learning.

    Like

    • missboller · January 21, 2016

      Thank you for your comment! I look forward to seeing what you choose for your project! I am sure you will choose a great one!

      Like

  4. shelbykayburke · January 21, 2016

    Miss. Boller,
    Last semester we had a school come from the reservations come to the school to talk to us. One of the most interesting things they did in the school was teach the Lakota language. I think it is fantastic to know different languages. I think this will benefit you greatly when you become a teacher!

    Like

    • missboller · January 21, 2016

      That would be neat to have had that experience! I think you are right about having this learning experience be beneficial to me.

      Like

  5. morgan13hays · January 22, 2016

    Great post and congratulations on getting married soon! I think it is really awesome that you are using the independent learning project to help you gain experience for your future teaching job. I also think it is great that you are interested in teaching on a reservation school, or close to one. Good luck with your independent learning project!

    Like

    • missboller · January 24, 2016

      Thank you Morgan! I am excited to see what the future has in store!

      Like

  6. sharinglovelife · January 23, 2016

    This sounds like a wonderful learning opportunity for you and your future students. I’m originally from South Dakota and I too always wanted to learn more about the Lakota culture, not from white mans point of view though. Good luck, can’t wait to hear of your experiences.

    Like

    • missboller · January 24, 2016

      Thank you! I can’t wait to see all the new information I will be gaining!

      Like

  7. vbadger2014 · January 26, 2016

    Nice blog post. I think your project will be interesting and a project where you can definitely learn a lot. Depending on where you end up teaching when you graduate, this could maybe help you in your future classroom. Good luck on your project.

    Like

    • missboller · January 26, 2016

      I will be living 20 minutes from the reservation and the school I would like to teach in has a majority of Lakota culture students. I am very excited to learn the Lakota language for my hopefully future students. Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

