The Learner I’ve Become

Moments usually have impacts on a person’s life and tend to change them whether it is for the good or the bad. The 5 moments that have impacted me and made me the learner I am were; the teachers I have had along the way, the times I failed, the bullying I dealt with, the daycare job that I had, and the support system I have. All these moments and people have impacted my life and made me the learner I am today.

All throughout my years in school I have had some really great teachers. I have made mental notes about the things they do that I would like to do and some things that I found that weren’t that great. These teachers were great because they would spend extra time with me if I didn’t understand what they were teaching. These great teachers also made their lessons to reach everyone’s learning style and it helped the students to be the best learner they could be. These teachers were also very encouraging on days that were tough.

There was a semester in college when I was going through a rough time. During that semester I was taking classes that had no interest to me but I knew I needed to take them in order to continue to become a teacher. I would try in these classes but since I wasn’t interested I had troubles fully understanding what I needed to do in order to get a good grade. After this semester was over I had failed two classes and was very embarrassed about it. Once I saw my grades I made a promise to myself that no matter how uninterested I am in a class that I take I would also do my best to make time to meet with the teacher and talk about what I am doing and what needs to be done. So far I have kept that promise.

Another time that made me the learner I am now is the time when I was bullied. Like other students I was bullied from 4th grade – sophomore year in high school. I was bullied for many reasons. When I was bullied I would do poorly in school because I was so nervous constantly watching my back hoping that people weren’t making fun of me. I use to be a people pleaser. With this experience I have learned that I just have to stay true to who I am and not let what others think about me effect my life. Yes, I still care what others think but I don’t let it control my life.

I used to work at a daycare back at home and when I would take care of the children in my classroom they would teach me things about life that I thought I had already figured out. The children taught me how to live life simple, the taught me to laugh at the things that I could not control. The things I taught them about how to stand in line, how to tie their shoes, how to go down the slide the right way were minor to the impact they had on my life.

As a student I have always had to work my hardest at getting good grades in school. I would often times become tired of trying so hard when I would see my friends just wing everything and always come out with an A or a B. When I started college I was so worried that I wouldn’t be able to make it to the degree I wanted. After a phone call with my mom about me wanting to give up and move home I have had the best support from my family. My family, my friends, and my fiancé have been with me every step of the way when it comes to my schooling. They always check in with me to see how I am doing and if I am super stressed they know exactly what to say to help me get in a more positive outlook.

6 comments

  1. graceharveyblog · January 18, 2016

    Alyssa,
    I enjoyed reading about your learning experiences. I have also spent a lot of time working in daycares and you really do learn a lot! I also went through a rough patch in college, but I think it is great that we learned from it and bettered ourselves. College is really the best time to learn those types of lessons! I am glad you said you care what others think, but don’t let it control you. Honestly, it is important what people think of you. The way you carry yourself is important and it is important for people to see what kind of person you are. For future jobs or even for a good reference.

    Like

    • missboller · January 21, 2016

      I agree with you college is the time to learn lessons!

      Like

  2. vbadger2014 · January 21, 2016

    I really enjoyed reading your post. I think the thing that stood out to me the most about your post was where you talked about how you are concerned with what others think. I think the same thing about this sometimes. I also feel though, that it’s important to not worry so much as to what others think. The way our world is, there are so many people who could be jealous etc. for no reason. I feel it’s most important to do what you think is right, which will in the end help you with future jobs and employment. I also think that it’s really cool you have worked in a daycare and had experience with kids. I also worked in a daycare a few summers ago, and it’s crazy to think the different things that kids at even that age and teach you. Again, great post and I look forward to reading more of your blogs.

    Like

    • missboller · January 24, 2016

      Thank you! Working in daycares are great experiences!

      Like

  3. sharinglovelife · January 23, 2016

    Keep working hard. One thing I have learned is that those that work hard for what they want appreciate the rewards so much more than those that just easily make it through.

    Like

    • missboller · January 24, 2016

      I agree very much with what you say! Seeing hard work pay off is super rewarding!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

